Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:56 p.m. - 2018-05-09
-

Reflecting on this semester, I have learned a great deal. I can remember the first day of class, when you had asked the class to explain the reasons for studying sociology. As I recall, my response at that time was rather mundane. I believe I made some brazen comment about having to meet a mandated education requirement. While it pains me to admit this, prior to this experience I had no clue what sociology entailed, it didn’t even occur to me to look it up. Upon realizing that sociology was about studying social structures within society, I was less than eager to forgo my initial feelings of dread regarding this course and its content. At that time, all I really knew was that I disliked many aspects of our culture. I had an understanding that often my opinions were received by others as being unwelcomed, or controversial. As opinionated I as am, I realize now that my reservations surrounding this course were sensible product of socialization. Even though I felt nervous about sharing my beliefs in a room full of strangers, the nature of this study not only empowered me to speak, it also encouraged me to listen more carefully to my classmates’ words. While I didn’t always understand where others were coming from, I found myself becoming less defensive, and more tolerant of others. We are all on separate paths, with different levels of awareness, but nothing will get better without growth from all sides.
I am very glad to have gained a heightened understanding of the structures that guide our interactions within the world. This has been one of those rare classes where I have gained useful insight and perspective towards this life I lead. So often we think of the American Dream, so often we are misled by the illusion of choice. I have found a great sense of calm in knowing that there are reasons things are the way they are, and that sociologists are working hard all over the world to make sense of what appears to be a chaotic world. Personally I have found that this course has been about RESOCIALIZATION. Surely I will keep this class in mind as I find my place in this world, becoming more okay with why things are the way they are, and feeling more inclined to engage in the world to improve things the right way ,through civic engagement.
Thankfully though, I’m leaving this class with a basic understanding of sociology which will surely help me make sense of our world.


initially I felt reluctant to engage myself in this experience, I didn’t know if I could forgo the initial feelings of dread I felt upon realizing that sociology was about studying social systems and society, but now I am very glad to have gained a heightened understanding of the structures that guide our interactions within the world. For me this process has been one of RESOCIALIZATION in many ways.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!